APS Return to School 2020 - (updated August 13)

APS Community Forum- August 13, 2020

2019-20 COVID-19 Information

aps1 closure1

Andover Public Schools to begin 2020-21 school year in Hybrid Learning Model

Dear APS families and staff,

At the August 10, 2020 meeting, the School Committee approved submission of the Andover 2020/21 school year reopening plan required by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE), and voted to begin the school year offering a Hybrid model for all students along with a Remote Academy for students who require or choose to learn remotely.

We would like to thank the APS community for their engagement and feedback throughout this process, and the Return-to-School Task Force for their thorough analysis of learning models. Each potential option studied has benefits and drawbacks, but we believe the adopted models allow the best opportunity to provide students an engaging, high-quality education and related services under current circumstances.

This decision was difficult. There is no model that will satisfy everyone’s interests for returning to school during a pandemic. We realize the impact this decision will have on our students, families and staff. The APS plan prioritizes the health of our staff and students while offering the benefit of as much in-person learning as logistically feasible.

In the Hybrid learning model, APS students will be assigned to attend school in-person two full-days per week, either Monday and Tuesday or Thursday and Friday, with Wednesday being a remote learning day for everyone to allow deep cleaning of schoolhouses. Additional in-person learning will be offered to high-needs students identified through the special education process.  In the Remote Academy, APS students will attend school remotely full-time.

School administrators will continue to monitor metrics related to COVID-19 rates, guidance from state and local officials, and updates from medical experts. As conditions change, the learning models offered by the district will be reassessed. We appreciate the community’s support and flexibility in responding to changing conditions.

Thank you for your engagement and patience through this process. We look forward to welcoming our students back to school on September 16th. 

Shannon Scully, Chairperson - Andover School Committee

Sheldon Berman- Superintendent of Schools


DESE Continuum for Schools

Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) Communications 

The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) will be providing all districts in Massachusetts with requirements and recommendations for re-opening for the 2020-21 school year. The links below provide documents released by DESE. We anticipate this will be updated frequently, please check back often. 

How to Contact Us 

The district distributed a survey to all APS families on June 10, 2020 for families to provide feedback. This survey closed on June 19th and we will share the results with the community when they become available.

To provide additional feedback, please email the COVID-19 group at covid-19@andoverma.us 

Previous communications from the 2019-2020 school year regarding COVID-19 can be found by clicking the image to the right.

APS Return to School Working Group Delegates

Delegates to the working group were chosen based on a diverse representation of grade-levels, areas of expertise, educational and extracurricular focus. The APS Return to School Task Force thanks these delegates for their contribution.
Lauren Annarelli Scott Armstrong Matthew Bach Jennifer Black Cindy Button Sara Calleja
Nicole Campbell Rita Casper Dr. Kenny Chan Gina Chaves Steve Chinosi Allyson Croswell
Linda Croteau Kathy Crowley Scott Darlington Aixa De Kelley Julie Diehl Dan Donovan
Caitlin Dotolo Stephanie Driscoll Heather Eigen Ryan Fielding Krista Galligani Julian DiGloria
Carol Green Matthew Hall Jennifer Hunt Susan Hunter -Jones Melissa Jacobo Jamie Kaplan
Jennifer Kolar Gail Koutroubas Chris Krueger Mysha Kuhlmann AHS Student Bill Martin
Lisa McDonough Paul Murphy Steve Nembirkow John Norton Rebecca Perry Kayley Pettoruto
Jackie Pitts Wayne Puglisi Elizabeth Raponi Donna Ruseckas Suzanne Saindon Jennifer Sands
Amy Schramek Betsy Spiegel Jennifer Srivastava Claire Stahley Renee Theodorou Karen Torres
Sean Walsh Mary Lu Walsh Karen Waters Tamara Wheeler Joseph Yarid AHS Student